About a year ago, this site started out as a place for me to review cars I hired. In 2010-11, I worked as a driver for Hertz, and had the opportunity to drive all kinds of cars. At that point, I started posting photos of the cars on Facebook with short reviews, just for fun. A year later, I moved to England, and because I lived in a place where I could get by without a car, I started hiring cars when I needed them. Hiring cars is a great way to test out new vehicles, and you generally get to try quite a variety (although I am too frequently given the keys to Vauxhall Astras). Because I had enjoyed doing it before, I decided to keep up the practice of reviewing them after I had driven them, and a blog devoted to that kind of thing seemed like a good idea.

However, I now own a car, and as a result the frequency with which I hire cars is much less. So I have turned this site into a place for me to post an assortment of automotive things, sort of like an online automotive commonplace book. You can primarily expect to see things about my own car, or the occasional opinion piece. I’ll also use it to share interesting things I stumble across online.

You can find me on Twitter @jakebeldercars.

Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

