(Post updated – see addition below)

My wife was out the other day and had stopped waiting to turn right when she was hit from behind by a Citröen Nemo. Thankfully, the impact was at quite a low speed, so no one was injured.

Here is the damage to the E39. As you can see, the damage consists of a large scuff to the bumper, some scratches to the tail light and the edge of the boot lid, and the bumper on the driver’s side being ever so slightly out of alignment with the rear quarter panel.

image
image
image
image

Typically, the guy had no insurance information with him and found a hundred different ways to blame all the other drivers around him. I’m not going to worry about that, though, as today I went to see a friend who used to work in a body shop, and he thinks the damage is easily repairable, and that a product like T-Cut should easily deal with the scratches and scuffs.

It’s frustrating, of course, but a car can be repaired. Ultimately I’m just glad my wife and kids were okay.

 

UPDATE:

The rain has finally stopped, so I went outside this afternoon to assess the damage to the E39 more closely, and see if I could do anything about it. I was surprised to find that the scuff on the bumper was actually residue from the Citröen’s bumper, and peeled off quite
easily.

image
image

Underneath, it was better than I expected. One significant scuff, and some light scratches. There is a small crack on the underside of the bumper as well.

image

In lieu of T-Cut, I remembered that I had some AutoGlym Paint Renovator sitting in my garage, so I thought I’d give that a try.

image

The results were surprising. Whilst it hasn’t removed the scratches entirely, it has certainly masked them a good deal. I’ll have to deal with the scuff at some point, but at this point, I’m very pleased with how much the AutoGlym restored the surface.

image
image

Next time I wash the car, I’ll polish the spot a few more times and see if it can’t be restored any further.

Leave a Reply

